The Great Depression of Social Media

This is a fascinating breakdown of the real costs and return on investment of social media, which I fully intend on using during my upcoming Library 2.0 Social Networking class.

Here are some rare and gorgeous color photographs taken towards the end of the Great Depression, right as the U.S. became involved in WWII, from the Library of Congress. I mention specifics because after I posted the link on my nit-picky boyfriend’s wall, he quite snobbishly informed me that I (and the web page itself) had neglected to specify the exact era, and to say that they are photographs of the just Great Depression is too vague and misleading. History nerds, I’m tellin’ ya.

Finally, this is how I’ve been feeling lately.

In my own personal news, I couldn’t even get an interview for a youth services position at a local public library, so I’m kind of bummed about that. Fortunately, Memorial Day weekend is coming up, and I, by sheer luck, actually have a 4 day weekend because the Tuesday following the holiday is a day that the doctors I work for perform surgery, so I don’t have to go into the office. I plan on spending it making frozen chocolate kiwi pops, shopping a little, getting myself situated for my summer classes that all start this week, and then spending an evening or two at Paddy’s, which is my favorite beach bar, and the one which my boyfriend happens to be a security manager for as well!

2 thoughts on “The Great Depression of Social Media

Leave a Reply

