Mixed Berry Apple Pie

It’s Saturday evening, and it’s been overcast and humid all day, so I took advantage of my time away from the beach and was all sorts of productive instead! I folded my laundry, exercised, did some banking, sauntered out to the grocery store, slipped on my Domestic Goddess apron and heels to clean the apartment, did the dishes, and made a pie!

Things I have learned recently: Living on a tight budget is rough. Baking a pie is not especially difficult. Eating a pie? Well, that’s as easy as…

The following is an incomplete pictorial account of my pie-baking experience! You can find a link to the actual recipe at the end of the entry!

1 tablespoon of fresh hand-squeezed lemon juice (but take the seeds out)!

1/2 teaspoon of Cumin (a substitute for Coriander, as I have none) and 1 teaspoon of Cinnamon.

1 “thinly sliced” apple.

I can’t tell if it looks gross or delicious…

Lesson: You have to make peace with getting your hands dirty.

Add the beautiful mess to the (regretfully, pre-made) pie crusts.

It should fill two shallow crusts, or one deeper one I’d imagine.

Now, on to the streussel topping! It called for two “packets” of instant oatmeal, but this was all I had. I also have no measuring cups anywhere in the house somehow, so I just estimated that a packet = a handful, and I think I was actually right!

The recipe calls for 3 tablespoons of butter, but I used 4.

Again, use your hands to mix it up.

It should look like this. I suppose if you wanted a more uniform pie topping, you could just make more of it, right?

Pop them in the oven for 45 minutes (ish) at 375!

Check on them halfway through, and make sure you look uncomfortably hot/sweaty/bored, which is basically the same thing as kind of seductive. It helps coax the pies into cooking properly, I swear.

Done! But make sure to let them cool first. I left mine for about an hour at room temperature, I think, and that was pretty perfect.

Om nom nom!

Look at that form!

So good, so good, so good! Is the first of the two pies almost gone already? MAYBE. But I invited my mom over to share some of it with me, so it’s not all bad. The calories don’t count if you’re being a loving and very adult-like daughter, right?

I got the recipe from one of my favorite new blogs: Everything Sounds Better in French, but before she had a legit website/blog, she had a Tumblr and that’s where the recipe can be found. Here, I’ll direct link you! Why? Cause I like you.

Leave a Reply

