Where have all the bookstores gone?

So, here’s some images of closed bookstores – I think it’s interesting that even as bookstores are going under, most of my library management-related classes are advocating for designing and redesigning library spaces that are more like bookstores because they’re aesthetically pleasing. So, it must not be a matter of what sells; rather, it’s just a matter of people having no money to buy what sells. Although, I should mention that for once, this economic effect might actually benefit me…assuming I ever get an actual job in or around a library.

Things We Never Told You: Ode to a Bookstore.

And speaking of disgruntled employees, this poor kid got fired from Starbucks for making this video. As a former Tim Horton’s coffee maid (it was the first job I got after graduating Magna Cum Laude from my private Catholic college in Boston), I feel for him. Fortunately, I didn’t have to deal with being fired – I quit, and then the company went under about two months later. Coincidence?

Okay, yes. Yes, it was.

Leave a Reply

