Meanwhile, in theory…

I’m getting really close to the completion of my Master’s degree now, guys, and getting equally antsy about my chances of ever getting a real, honest-to-goodness, big-girl job.

According to this infographic, I should be hired fairly soon and make a decent amount of money. Hrm. Let’s just see about that one.

Also, let’s take a second to examine these librarian stereotypes. Well, I like cats, like order, love social media, am a leftie (in the liberal/political sense, though not on all issues), I want to learn how to knit, and I do like gin…but I love vodka more. That’s like, 3/5 of the stereotypes met! C’mon! Someone hire me!

Oh, and speaking of librarian stereotypes…now that this meme is long over and done with, I figured I’d finally get around to posting it. Is that hip-yet-unhip enough for you, board of trustees? Am I suitably approachable? Are you impressed with my vigor but not intimidated by my youth? Eh?

I sometimes worry about some things I post in this ‘cheer blog-o-mine, which originated as a portfolio but rapidly turned into a depository for passingly professional contemplations and mostly a lot of self-reflection. Sometimes I worry about my lack of pant suits. Sometimes, I worry about my tattoos – but then I see things like this:

Geeky Tattoos

And then I feel a little better. Libraries are a funny place to try to be hired because they are going through so much change so very quickly; they can at once be extremely conventional and structured, and liberal and radical.

Just please, don’t replace the need for human librarians with this monstrosity, because then I’ll never be hired. Also, remember – “Google can bring you back 100,000 answers; a librarian can bring you back the right one.” – Neil Gaimen.

Gaimen? More like “amen.”

Leave a Reply

