I’m Kind of a Big Deal

I never know how to properly phrase posts on this blog without sounding like a pompous windbag, so just to kill that:

Look at me, look at me – I’m doing things! I have many paperback books, and my apartment smells of furniture I bought off Craigslist!

No, in all seriousness, I’d like to at least update this blog a little bit before another year goes by and I have to write my life-story all over again.

So, following an inspired suggestion by Colleen (one of our PR committee members Colleen), I am organizing the Rhode Island Library Association’s first ever Tattooed Librarians/Library Workers of Rhode Island calendar fundraiser for 2014. I should have known from the start that it would be quite the undertaking, but boy howdy. Fortunately, I have great friends and professional contacts that are making things run surprisingly smoothly thus far.

The calendar is going to (hopefully) be premiered in conjunction with another event we have in the very beginning of its planning stages – a local craft beer sampling, which I can’t even begin to think about organizing until after I at least set up the dates for the calendar photo shoots.

This is my main project for the year; Chelsea, on the other hand, has been the primary driving force behind getting everyone on board with the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation’s campaign called Geek the Library and she’s done an amazing job already (but no surprise there, of course). We began hyping the campaign in earnest earlier this month at the RILA conference and already have 26 libraries signed up and 3 locally-grown celebrities confirmed to participate as well by lending their famous faces to our posters and banners!

Meanwhile, I’ve also been spending every other Saturday representing North Scituate Public Library at the Scituate Farmers Market, which has been such a joyful (and delicious) experience!

This weekend, I’ll be spending the second half of my Saturday working for Narragansett Beer at the Roger Williams Park Zoo for their annual Zoobilee Feast with the Beasts, and I could not be more excited! My trunk is currently jam-packed with ten cases of beer and my whole back seat is filled with shirts and hats and coozies.

AskRI is going along well; we finally switched chat services, from Zoho to LibraryH3lp, and I much prefer this one to the old one. We have a bunch of new swag coming in (coffee mugs, t-shirts, etc.) and plans to branch out into the community through both Providence Community Library’s new mobile library bus and day-trips to places like the zoo or Slater Mill so we can help sign people up for library cards, get the word out about AskRI, and provide reference service in person as well as virtually!

Oh, and in the midst of all of this, I’m also trying to put together a fairly large-scale bridal shower for my best friend for early August, and I may actually be getting married myself this fall?

Anyway, those are the headlines of my life, for which the deadlines are all fast approaching. I would say that I’m excited for the fall to hurry up and get here so I can relax, but then Joseph will be deploying shortly thereafter, and I wish I could live a whole lifetime without that happening. I’ll take my hectic days now over a year of nights without him.

Leave a Reply

