God has given you one face and you make yourselves another

Morning Products with Border and Text

So, every morning, I shower and follow up by spritzing a homemade mix of vitamin E and essential rose oil on my face. Then I mix a fingerfull’s amount (yes, that’s a precise measurement) of Aveeeno’s tinted daily moisturizer mixed with the tiniest dab of NYX’s Born to Glow “liquid illuminator” as a base for everything else that’s still to come.

Foundation Products with Border and Texts

1. Monistat Anti-chafing gel/powder – I use a dime-sized amount used as a primer for my makeup but only if I’m going to special event or if I’m going to be working a photo-heavy promotion and want to make sure everything stays in place. Otherwise, I don’t bother. Yes, I know, it’s weird, but it works really well, I promise, and it’s $4 for a whole tube that lasts forever.

2. E.L.F. studio eye primer – I cover each eyelid and the inner corners of my under eye to prep for powder foundation and eye shadow; it really makes for cleaner lines and longer wear, and it’s $3 at Target. Totally worth it.

3. Rimmel Stay Matte pressed powder – Used over eyelids but mostly under my eyes to even out my skin tone and cover up any dark circles I may have from the night before.

4. L’Oreal Bare Naturals, powdered minerals foundation – Fabulous coverage and long-lasting wear; I’ve used it happily for years.

Eyebrow Products with Border and Text

1. Spoolies are the first step, always. Brush everything into place, check to see if you need to pluck or trim anything, and go from there.

2. Covergirl Brow (And Eye) Makers – I use this in Light Brown, and try to follow Jenna Marbles’ suggestion to basically just outline the upper and lower parts of your natural brown line to define them and make it easier to fill in with the next steps.

3. E.L.F. Brow Kit – Use the wax to further line and define your brows, and then fill in with the powder. I use the tiny angled brush that comes with the kit for the wax, but a different angled brush from E.L.F. for the powder (not the tiny rounded one that comes with the kit) for a more precise application.

4. Rimmel London white eyeliner pencil – highlight your brow bone with this, and blend with your fingers.

Contouring Products with Border and Text

1. Maybelline Coverstick in White – make an X on your forehead, draw a thin line down your nose, rub a small circle in the inner corners of each eye, draw a stripe under each eye to highlight the start of your cheeks, put one dot right above your upper lip (in the middle of your “philtrum”) and a thin line on each side of your lower lips. Then blend, blend, blend with a small stipple brush (again, I use E.L.F. brushes pretty exclusively).

2a. Maybelline eyeshadow in “Almond Satin” – originally I used this as an eye shadow and it works fine for that, too, but the darkest color in the trio has a great matte finish for contouring. I lightly sweep on a line in the hollows of each cheek and also along the outsides of my nose, the edges of my face, and also along my jawline if I’m feeling very fancy.

2b. NYC Bronzer in “Sunny” – go over the shadow line you just drew with another light sweep of this, and then blend thoroughly. I use the Kabuki brush that was a part of an old L’Oreal mineral foundation container, but any fluffy blending brush will do.

3. E.L.F. Studio Blush in “Tickled Pink” – use E.L.F.’s studio Kabuki brush to apply to the apples of your cheeks.

4. L’Oreal True Match Naturale Finshing Powder – if you’re going to be photographed or will be out late, finish everything off with this to set your look in place and minimize shine even further!

Eyes Products with Border and Text

1. Wet and Wild eyeshadow trio , particularly “Walking on Eggshells” – The kit comes with the directions stamped into the powder, so it’s pretty no fail. Lid color goes on your lid, brow goes over the white eyeliner pencil you put on earlier, and then I use the little sponge-on-a-stick applicator that comes with the kit to put on the brown color into the outer corner of my crease and then blend thoroughly with a rounded E.L.F brush.

2. Wet ‘n Wild Mega Eyes Creme Liner – Perfect if you’re trying to do a good cat’s eye or any kind of winging. Draw the outer end of your winged line first, then work backwards, starting in the center of your lid and moving back out to that line, and then start moving in towards the inner corner of your eye.

Eyelash curlers are way more essential to getting a good set of lashes than I ever gave them credit for before recently.

Daytime – Maybelline Full ‘N Soft is great for light, airy lashes that look really natural.

Nighttime – Maybelline Great Lash followed directly by Covergirl Clump Crusher is a great combination for evening outings or events. Do both on one eye in rapid succession without letting the first coat dry for maximum results, and then move on to the other eye.

*Again, spoolies are your friends! Use them to get rid of any kinks or clumps in your mascara during or after the drying process.

Lip Products with Border and Text
* The very first step here is actually brushing your teeth and then using the toothbrush to help exfoliate any dead skin that may be on your lips, but there was no pretty way of illustrating that, so there you have it.
[EDIT:] – Just kidding, I strongly recommend picking up a tube of E.L.F.’s lip exfoliator – yes, you can make the same product yourself with brown sugar and coconut oil, but it gets messy and this is a breeze to apply.
1. Burt’s Bees Lip Balm – apply a normal amount to give yourself a smooth surface to work with.
2. Maybelline lipliner in red – Maybelline has a dryer formula than, say, Revlon when it comes to liners, but that’s what I look for because it needs to act as a barrier for everything else. Go along the outside of your lips, unless you’re in a rush and then you can fill in everything with this and use it in place of a lipstick entirely.
3. (and 5!) NYX Matte Lipstick in “Perfect Red” – I cannot say enough good things about this lipstick. It’s, well, perfect. I love the matte finish so much more than gloss (it’s great for a retro vibe, too), it’s only $6 at Ulta, it’s long-lasting, and if I could marry it, I would. Also, it’s worth checking out their pink lipsticks – I use “Natural” for my daytime look and love it equally. With this brand, I find that one coat is all I need and it will last for ages, but if you’re going to use another kind of lipstick, then my best suggestion would be to put on one coat to start, and then move on to the next step (powdering), and then put on a second coat to finish.
4. L’Oreal Naturale – this is the same finishing powder from before, and you can use any translucent powder you like really, I just don’t see the point in owning two. Dust on a thin layer to the first coat of lipstick, and then go over with a second coat.
6. Revlon Just Bitten Kissable balm stain – Great for quick touchups as needed, particularly if you need something to apply without the aid of a mirror, or for a more casual red-lips day.
Evening Products with Border and Text
1. Baby Oil Gel – I use it to remove makeup because my eyes are super sensitive to every other makeup remover I’ve ever used and I could always use the extra Aloe and vitamin E.
2. Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser – “Every age. Every stage. Every day.” Pretty self-explanatory. I like that it’s good for every day use.
3. Thayer’s Rose Petal Witch Hazel with Aloe – outstanding in every way! All the benefits of witch hazel with none of the awful smell, plus it’s moisturizing. Apply with a cotton ball and watch your acne disappear.
4. Pond’s Dry Skin Cream (or Pond’s Cold Cream) – tried and true by grandmothers everywhere, and mild enough to put all around your eyes before bed. It’s helped so much with the fine lines that were forming under my eyes before I started using it, and feels like a dream when you put it on.

Leave a Reply

